Pennsylvania requires every LLC and corporation to keep a registered agent with a Pennsylvania street address. Whether you can be your own agent is not stated on the filing office site. Changing your agent costs $5 for an LLC and $5 for a corporation. The Annual Report is due Corporations (business and nonprofit), domestic and foreign: June 30. Limited liability companies, domestic and foreign: September 30. Limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships, business trusts, professional associations, domestic and foreign: December 31.. If you have no agent: Failure to maintain a registered office is grounds for administrative dissolution; until compliance is restored the entity cannot maintain lawsuits, enforce contracts, or collect debts (citation below not independently verified against a cached statute page). Separate matter, corrected 2026-09-09: failure to file the Annual Report [DSCB:15-146] carries no flat dollar penalty - per the cache it leads to administrative dissolution (domestic filing entity), administrative cancellation (domestic LLP) or administrative termination of registration (foreign association), each six months after the due date, beginning with Annual Reports not filed in 2027 (2025-2026 is a statutory transition/grace period, Act 122 of 2022). The '$500 penalty ... within 60 days' previously logged here for a late Annual Report was incorrect: that $500 lien penalty actually belongs to a different filing, the Certificate of Annual Registration (CAR), owed only by LLPs/LLLPs/PLLCs, due April 15, with the $500 penalty triggered if not filed by May 15.. Hiring an agent costs $125 to $249 a year at renewal on the providers' own sites, read 2026-09-08; first-year offers run lower.
This page is general information, not legal advice. State fees, forms and deadlines change. Every fact is quoted from the state filing office or statute with the date we read it. Confirm on the official page before you file. Terms of use.
How to change your registered agent in Pennsylvania
Three steps. Most owners finish online in under fifteen minutes.
- Choose the new agent. Whether you can be your own agent is not stated on the filing office site. Or hire a service from the price table below; they give you their Pennsylvania street address to put on the form.

- File online. Business Filing Services (BFS) portal handles PA business filings online; confirmed generally (not specific to this one form) on today's cached annual-reports and certificates-of-annual-registration pages, e.g. 'For immediate processing, this form should be submitted online at file.dos.pa.gov. Paper forms will not be expedited.' (cached DSCB:15-146(f) Annual Report Update form, which itself handles a same-year registered-office-address change with no fee). Open file.dos.pa.gov

- Or file the paper form. Statement/Certificate of Change of Registered Office (DSCB: 15-1507/5507/8625/8825), from the Pennsylvania Department of State, Bureau of Corporations and Charitable Organizations. Mail it to: Pennsylvania Department of State, Bureau of Corporations and Charitable Organizations, P.O. Box 8722, Harrisburg, PA 17105-8722. Open the Pennsylvania filing office Direct PDF

- Pay the fee. Changing your agent costs $5 for an LLC and $5 for a corporation. Keep the confirmation; the new agent is effective when the state records it.

Mail or visit: Pennsylvania Department of State, Bureau of Corporations and Charitable Organizations, P.O. Box 8722, Harrisburg, PA 17105-8722 Open in maps

What a registered agent costs in Pennsylvania
Yearly fee from each provider's own site on the date shown: what a new customer pays the first year, and what it renews at. Sorted by renewal price, because that is what you pay every year after. "No link" means we have no agreement with that provider; it is listed on the same terms. Best is not always the one we earn from, and we say which is which.
| Provider | First year | Renews at | Terms and what is included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Northwest Registered Agentno link, no agreement | $125 | $125 | Same price every year, per its page
|
| Harbor Complianceno link, no agreement | $99 | $149 | Renews at 149 per year after the first
|
| Bizeeno link, no agreement | $149 | $149 | 149 per year standalone or on renewal; first year free only with a bizee formation
|
| ZenBusinessno link, no agreement | $99 | $199 | Renews at 199 per year
|
| LegalZoomno link, no agreement | $249 | $249 | Auto-renews; renewal rate subject to change, per its page
|
What switching to the cheapest renewal saves
| If you renew with | Renews at | Saved per year | Over 3 years |
|---|---|---|---|
| LegalZoom | $249 | $124 | $372 |
| ZenBusiness | $199 | $74 | $222 |
| Harbor Compliance | $149 | $24 | $72 |
| Bizee | $149 | $24 | $72 |
Compared with Northwest Registered Agent at $125 a year, prices read 2026-09-08. Switching costs the state change fee shown above, once.
Type your current renewal price to see the saving.
Advertising disclosure. Some provider names on this page are links to that provider's site through an affiliate network. If you buy through one of those links we may earn a commission. The price you pay does not change. Providers we have no agreement with are listed without a link and ranked by the same rules. Disclosed under the US FTC Endorsement Guides and the Norwegian Marketing Control Act.
Pennsylvania at a glance
Fees, forms and deadlines
| Item | Pennsylvania |
|---|---|
| Filing office | Pennsylvania Department of State, Bureau of Corporations and Charitable Organizations pa.gov/agencies/dos.htmlSource: pa.gov/content/dam/copapwp-pagov/en/dos/programs/business/forms/offsit, read 2026-09-08 |
| Registered agent statute (LLC) | 15 Pa.C.S. § 8825Source: palegis.us/statutes/consolidated/view-statute, read 2026-09-08 |
| Registered agent statute (corporation) | 15 Pa.C.S. § 1507Source: palegis.us/statutes/consolidated/view-statute, read 2026-09-08 |
| Change of agent form | Statement/Certificate of Change of Registered Office (DSCB: 15-1507/5507/8625/8825) (online filing available)Source: pa.gov/content/dam/copapwp-pagov/en/dos/programs/business/forms/offsit, read 2026-09-08 |
| Change of agent fee, LLC | $5Source: pa.gov/content/dam/copapwp-pagov/en/dos/programs/business/forms/offsit, read 2026-09-08 |
| Change of agent fee, corporation | $5Source: pa.gov/content/dam/copapwp-pagov/en/dos/programs/business/forms/offsit, read 2026-09-08 |
| Annual Report due | Corporations (business and nonprofit), domestic and foreign: June 30. Limited liability companies, domestic and foreign: September 30. Limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships, business trusts, professional associations, domestic and foreign: December 31. (Corporations (business and nonprofit) domestic and foreign - Jan. 1 - Jun. 30. Limited liability companies domestic and foreign - Jan. 1 - Sept. 30. All other associations (limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships, business trusts, professional associations) domestic and foreign - Jan. 1 - Dec. 31.)Source: pa.gov/agencies/dos/programs/business/types-of-filings-and-registratio, read 2026-09-09 |
| Annual report fee, LLC | $7Source: pa.gov/agencies/dos/programs/business/types-of-filings-and-registratio, read 2026-09-09 |
| Annual report fee, corporation | $7Source: pa.gov/agencies/dos/programs/business/types-of-filings-and-registratio, read 2026-09-09 |
| Late fee | not publishedSource: pa.gov/agencies/dos/programs/business/types-of-filings-and-registratio, read 2026-09-09 |
| No agent on file | Failure to maintain a registered office is grounds for administrative dissolution; until compliance is restored the entity cannot maintain lawsuits, enforce contracts, or collect debts (citation below not independently verified against a cached statute page). Separate matter, corrected 2026-09-09: failure to file the Annual Report [DSCB:15-146] carries no flat dollar penalty - per the cache it leads to administrative dissolution (domestic filing entity), administrative cancellation (domestic LLP) or administrative termination of registration (foreign association), each six months after the due date, beginning with Annual Reports not filed in 2027 (2025-2026 is a statutory transition/grace period, Act 122 of 2022). The '$500 penalty ... within 60 days' previously logged here for a late Annual Report was incorrect: that $500 lien penalty actually belongs to a different filing, the Certificate of Annual Registration (CAR), owed only by LLPs/LLLPs/PLLCs, due April 15, with the $500 penalty triggered if not filed by May 15. 15 Pa.C.S. § 381; 15 Pa.C.S. § 411 (both unverified against cache); 15 Pa.C.S. § 146 (Annual Report, verified 2026-09-09); 15 Pa.C.S. §§ 8221, 8998 (CAR, verified 2026-09-09)Source: pa.gov/agencies/dos/programs/business/types-of-filings-and-registratio, read 2026-09-09 |
| Be your own agent | Whether you can be your own agent is not stated on the filing office site |
What the statute says
A registered agent is the person or company the state and the courts send legal papers to. The agent must have a street address in Pennsylvania, not a PO box, and be available during business hours. Whether you can be your own agent is not stated on the filing office site.
Annual report and what happens without an agent


The Annual Report is due Corporations (business and nonprofit), domestic and foreign: June 30. Limited liability companies, domestic and foreign: September 30. Limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships, business trusts, professional associations, domestic and foreign: December 31.. Fee: $7 for an LLC, $7 for a corporation. Late fee: not published.
Without an agent on file: Failure to maintain a registered office is grounds for administrative dissolution; until compliance is restored the entity cannot maintain lawsuits, enforce contracts, or collect debts (citation below not independently verified against a cached statute page). Separate matter, corrected 2026-09-09: failure to file the Annual Report [DSCB:15-146] carries no flat dollar penalty - per the cache it leads to administrative dissolution (domestic filing entity), administrative cancellation (domestic LLP) or administrative termination of registration (foreign association), each six months after the due date, beginning with Annual Reports not filed in 2027 (2025-2026 is a statutory transition/grace period, Act 122 of 2022). The '$500 penalty ... within 60 days' previously logged here for a late Annual Report was incorrect: that $500 lien penalty actually belongs to a different filing, the Certificate of Annual Registration (CAR), owed only by LLPs/LLLPs/PLLCs, due April 15, with the $500 penalty triggered if not filed by May 15. (15 Pa.C.S. § 381; 15 Pa.C.S. § 411 (both unverified against cache); 15 Pa.C.S. § 146 (Annual Report, verified 2026-09-09); 15 Pa.C.S. §§ 8221, 8998 (CAR, verified 2026-09-09)). In practice that means missed lawsuits and a company that can lose its good standing.
Sources and dates
- https://www.pa.gov/content/dam/copapwp-pagov/en/dos/programs/business/forms/offsite-forms/15-1507_5507_8625_8825-Statement-of-Chng-of-Registered-Office.pdf, read 2026-09-08
- https://www.palegis.us/statutes/consolidated/view-statute?txtType=HTM&ttl=15&div=0&chpt=88&sctn=25&subsctn=0, read 2026-09-08
- https://www.pa.gov/agencies/dos/programs/business/types-of-filings-and-registrations/annual-reports, read 2026-09-09
- https://www.northwestregisteredagent.com/registered-agent, read 2026-09-08
- https://www.harborcompliance.com/registered-agent-service, read 2026-09-08
- https://bizee.com/business-management/registered-agent, read 2026-09-08
- https://www.zenbusiness.com/registered-agent-service/, read 2026-09-08
- https://www.legalzoom.com/business/business-operations/registered-agent-overview.html, read 2026-09-08
This page is general information, not legal advice. State fees, forms and deadlines change. Every fact is quoted from the state filing office or statute with the date we read it. Confirm on the official page before you file.
Other states
Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming
Advertising disclosure. Some provider names on this page are links to that provider's site through an affiliate network. If you buy through one of those links we may earn a commission. The price you pay does not change. Providers we have no agreement with are listed without a link and ranked by the same rules. Disclosed under the US FTC Endorsement Guides and the Norwegian Marketing Control Act.