Maryland requires every LLC and corporation to keep a registered agent with a Maryland street address. Whether you can be your own agent is not stated on the filing office site. Changing your agent costs $25 for an LLC and $25 for a corporation. The Annual Report / Personal Property Return (Form 1) is due April 15. If you have no agent: Failure to file the Annual Report / Personal Property Return results in an estimated assessment at twice the estimated value of the entity's personal property, and 'failure to file this report will result in forfeiture of the Maryland charter or the right to do business in Maryland.' Businesses that have not filed Articles of Dissolution, an Application for Termination, a Certificate of Cancellation or a Withdrawal Notice remain legally active until they do so, or until their charter (domestic) or authority to do business (foreign) is forfeited.. Hiring an agent costs $125 to $249 a year at renewal on the providers' own sites, read 2026-09-08; first-year offers run lower.
This page is general information, not legal advice. State fees, forms and deadlines change. Every fact is quoted from the state filing office or statute with the date we read it. Confirm on the official page before you file. Terms of use.
How to change your registered agent in Maryland
Three steps. Most owners finish online in under fifteen minutes.
- Choose the new agent. Whether you can be your own agent is not stated on the filing office site. Or hire a service from the price table below; they give you their Maryland street address to put on the form.

- Or file the paper form. Resolution to Change Principal Office or Resident Agent, from the Maryland State Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT). Mail it to: State Department of Assessments & Taxation, 700 East Pratt Street, Suite 2700, Baltimore, MD 21202. Open the Maryland filing office Direct PDF

- Pay the fee. Changing your agent costs $25 for an LLC and $25 for a corporation. Keep the confirmation; the new agent is effective when the state records it.

Mail or visit: State Department of Assessments & Taxation, 700 East Pratt Street, Suite 2700, Baltimore, MD 21202 Open in maps

What a registered agent costs in Maryland
Yearly fee from each provider's own site on the date shown: what a new customer pays the first year, and what it renews at. Sorted by renewal price, because that is what you pay every year after. "No link" means we have no agreement with that provider; it is listed on the same terms. Best is not always the one we earn from, and we say which is which.
| Provider | First year | Renews at | Terms and what is included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Northwest Registered Agentno link, no agreement | $125 | $125 | Same price every year, per its page
|
| Harbor Complianceno link, no agreement | $99 | $149 | Renews at 149 per year after the first
|
| Bizeeno link, no agreement | $149 | $149 | 149 per year standalone or on renewal; first year free only with a bizee formation
|
| ZenBusinessno link, no agreement | $99 | $199 | Renews at 199 per year
|
| LegalZoomno link, no agreement | $249 | $249 | Auto-renews; renewal rate subject to change, per its page
|
What switching to the cheapest renewal saves
| If you renew with | Renews at | Saved per year | Over 3 years |
|---|---|---|---|
| LegalZoom | $249 | $124 | $372 |
| ZenBusiness | $199 | $74 | $222 |
| Harbor Compliance | $149 | $24 | $72 |
| Bizee | $149 | $24 | $72 |
Compared with Northwest Registered Agent at $125 a year, prices read 2026-09-08. Switching costs the state change fee shown above, once.
Type your current renewal price to see the saving.
Advertising disclosure. Some provider names on this page are links to that provider's site through an affiliate network. If you buy through one of those links we may earn a commission. The price you pay does not change. Providers we have no agreement with are listed without a link and ranked by the same rules. Disclosed under the US FTC Endorsement Guides and the Norwegian Marketing Control Act.
Maryland at a glance
Fees, forms and deadlines
| Item | Maryland |
|---|---|
| Filing office | Maryland State Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT) dat.maryland.gov/Source: dat.maryland.gov/businesses/Pages/default.aspx, read 2026-09-08 |
| Registered agent statute (LLC) | Md. Code, Corps. & Ass'ns § 4A-210Source: law.justia.com/codes/maryland/corporations-and-associations/title-2/su (secondary source), read 2026-09-08 |
| Registered agent statute (corporation) | Md. Code, Corps. & Ass'ns § 2-108Source: law.justia.com/codes/maryland/corporations-and-associations/title-2/su (secondary source), read 2026-09-08 |
| Change of agent form | Resolution to Change Principal Office or Resident Agent (online filing available)Source: dat.maryland.gov/pages/sdatforms.aspx, read 2026-09-08 |
| Change of agent fee, LLC | $25Source: dat.maryland.gov/pages/sdatforms.aspx, read 2026-09-08 |
| Change of agent fee, corporation | $25Source: dat.maryland.gov/pages/sdatforms.aspx, read 2026-09-08 |
| Annual Report / Personal Property Return (Form 1) due | April 15 (Md. Code, Tax-Prop. Article annual filing requirement; a 60-day extension may be requested)Source: dat.maryland.gov/Documents/Accessible%20Documents/BPP%20-%20Annual%20R, read 2026-09-08 |
| Annual report fee, LLC | $300Source: dat.maryland.gov/Documents/Accessible%20Documents/BPP%20-%20Annual%20R, read 2026-09-08 |
| Annual report fee, corporation | $300Source: dat.maryland.gov/Documents/Accessible%20Documents/BPP%20-%20Annual%20R, read 2026-09-08 |
| Late fee | not publishedSource: dat.maryland.gov/Documents/Accessible%20Documents/BPP%20-%20Annual%20R, read 2026-09-08 |
| No agent on file | Failure to file the Annual Report / Personal Property Return results in an estimated assessment at twice the estimated value of the entity's personal property, and 'failure to file this report will result in forfeiture of the Maryland charter or the right to do business in Maryland.' Businesses that have not filed Articles of Dissolution, an Application for Termination, a Certificate of Cancellation or a Withdrawal Notice remain legally active until they do so, or until their charter (domestic) or authority to do business (foreign) is forfeited. Md. Code, Tax-Prop. Article (forfeiture provisions triggered by failure to file the annual report/personal property return); exact section number not in cache. Declarations on the form are made 'pursuant to Tax-Property Article §1-201'.Source: dat.maryland.gov/Documents/Accessible%20Documents/BPP%20-%20Annual%20R, read 2026-09-08 |
| Be your own agent | Whether you can be your own agent is not stated on the filing office site |
What the statute says
Each Maryland corporation shall have a principal office in this State and a resident agent.
Md. Code, Corps. & Ass'ns § 4A-210, read 2026-09-08
A registered agent is the person or company the state and the courts send legal papers to. In Maryland the statute calls this role the resident agent; it is the same thing as a registered agent. The agent must have a street address in Maryland, not a PO box, and be available during business hours. Whether you can be your own agent is not stated on the filing office site.
Annual report and what happens without an agent


The Annual Report / Personal Property Return (Form 1) is due April 15. Fee: $300 for an LLC, $300 for a corporation. Late fee: not published.
Without an agent on file: Failure to file the Annual Report / Personal Property Return results in an estimated assessment at twice the estimated value of the entity's personal property, and 'failure to file this report will result in forfeiture of the Maryland charter or the right to do business in Maryland.' Businesses that have not filed Articles of Dissolution, an Application for Termination, a Certificate of Cancellation or a Withdrawal Notice remain legally active until they do so, or until their charter (domestic) or authority to do business (foreign) is forfeited. (Md. Code, Tax-Prop. Article (forfeiture provisions triggered by failure to file the annual report/personal property return); exact section number not in cache. Declarations on the form are made 'pursuant to Tax-Property Article §1-201'.). In practice that means missed lawsuits and a company that can lose its good standing.
Sources and dates
- https://dat.maryland.gov/businesses/Pages/default.aspx, read 2026-09-08
- https://law.justia.com/codes/maryland/corporations-and-associations/title-2/subtitle-1/section-2-108/, read 2026-09-08
- https://dat.maryland.gov/pages/sdatforms.aspx, read 2026-09-08
- https://dat.maryland.gov/Documents/Accessible%20Documents/BPP%20-%20Annual%20Reports%20and%20Returns/2026%20Filings%20-%20Form%201%20Business%20Entity%20Annual%20Report_0426-A.pdf, read 2026-09-08
- https://dat.maryland.gov/Documents/Accessible%20Documents/BPP%20-%20Annual%20Reports%20and%20Returns/2026%20Form%201%20Instructions%20%20FINAL_0416-A.pdf, read 2026-09-08
- https://www.northwestregisteredagent.com/registered-agent, read 2026-09-08
- https://www.harborcompliance.com/registered-agent-service, read 2026-09-08
- https://bizee.com/business-management/registered-agent, read 2026-09-08
- https://www.zenbusiness.com/registered-agent-service/, read 2026-09-08
- https://www.legalzoom.com/business/business-operations/registered-agent-overview.html, read 2026-09-08
This page is general information, not legal advice. State fees, forms and deadlines change. Every fact is quoted from the state filing office or statute with the date we read it. Confirm on the official page before you file.
Other states
Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming
Advertising disclosure. Some provider names on this page are links to that provider's site through an affiliate network. If you buy through one of those links we may earn a commission. The price you pay does not change. Providers we have no agreement with are listed without a link and ranked by the same rules. Disclosed under the US FTC Endorsement Guides and the Norwegian Marketing Control Act.